Are you a fan of the Underworld movies? If yes, then this post is for you. In this post, we will tell you how to watch the Underworld movies in chronological order.

Underworld movies in order

Have you seen all parts of the Underworld movies? If you haven’t seen any of the Underworld movies yet, then you are missing out on a lot.

Underworld franchise is a mind-blowing series that chronicles the never-ending battle between two everlasting rivals: vampires and werewolves. All the underworld films revolve around the two. In the middle of the conflict, it also reflects the love of two hybrids, where Selene (a vampire) falls in love with Michael (a Lycan).

Underworld movies are always a delight to watch. The first movie of the franchise was released in 2003 and was titled ‘Underworld’. Since then, there have been five more movies in the franchise with the latest one being ‘Underworld: Blood Wars’ which was released in 2016.

Considering Underworld franchise is loosely based on a Marvel character of the same name, you should be knowing be about Marvel’s upcoming movies as well. But for now, let’s find out more about Underworld movies in chronological order:

Watch Underworld Movies In Chronological Order

If you’re a fan of the Underworld series, then you know that watching the movies in order is important. The series involves many flashbacks, prequels, and references to previous plots. But what is the right order to watch Underworld?

Here’s a quick guide to watching the Underworld movies in chronological order:

  • Underworld (2003)
  • Underworld: Evolution (2006)
  • Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)
  • Underworld: Awakening (2012)
  • Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)

Let us tell you a little more about the Underworld Movies in Order

Underworld (2003)

Underworld 2003 (1)

The Underworld movies shows the war between vampires and werewolves. The first film in the franchise, “Underworld,” was released in 2003. Selene, a vampire, is at the center of the action, and she is on a mission to wipe out the werewolves from the Earth. During her battle, she rescues a human but soon realized that a Lycan has bitten Michael. The duo also discovers that Michael is a descendant of the Corvinus and could become a hybrid. This made complicated for  Selene’s mission, and she decides whether to kill Michael or help him. The films that follow chronicle the various battles but 1 person keeps on trying for the peace.

Underworld: Evolution (2006)


Underworld: Evolution was released in 2006 and is a prequel to the first movie. It focuses on the origins of vampires and Lycans. We learn that Marcus Corvinus is the first of his kind – a hybrid of both vampire and Lycan. They both engage in a battle that ends up leaving Alexander mortally wounded. He asks Selene to drink his blood and provide him with hybrid powers and they both agreed to it.

Underworld: Rise of the Lycans (2009)


Underworld: Rise of the Lycans was released in 2009 and is a prequel to both Underworld movies. It tells the story of Lucian, the first werewolf, and his battle against Viktor, the vampire who turned him.

The plot started when a werewolf attacks and bites William after 30 years, while Marcus is bitten by a bat. Marcus transforms into a vampire, while William transforms into a werewolf due to the Corvinus Strain in their blood. To satisfy his desire, William starts murdering individuals and transforming them into Lycans. Marcus joins forces with King Vector and transforms him into a vampire to stop him. And that’s where the battle began.

Underworld: Endless War (2011)


Underworld endless war is an animated movie of the Underworld movie series spanning over a century. Endless war describes Selene, the Death dealer, in three different time frames where she is fighting and attempting to kill the three powerful Lycan brothers who are violently ruling over and pretending as Persian lords. Selene’s mission is improvised as technology and weapons advance over time. Watch this Underworld movie to find out if the everlasting struggle between Lycans and vampires will finally come to an end in 2012.

Underworld: Awakening (2012)


Underworld: Awakening was released in 2012 and is set after the events of Underworld: Evolution. Selene wakes up from a 12-year sleep to find that she has a daughter with Michael. Together, they must protect Eve from Marcus and his army of vampires and Lycans.

You must watch the previous films of the series as well to understand underworld movie and to learn how she manages to escape and save her species.

Underworld: Blood Wars (2016)


The fifth installment, “Underworld: Blood Wars,” was released in 2016. In this film, both vampires and lycans are nearly extinct, and both species are bent on hunting Selene down. Selene and David (Theo James), a young vampire, visit the Eastern coven and learn that David is the legitimate heir to the vampire throne. Selene is again separated from her daughter Eve.


How many Underworld movies are there?

There are five underworld movies including an animated series so far.

Why Do you Need to Watch Underworld in Order?

As all the underworld series are connected, they involves Prequels, flashes from the past, and Recollections. The series has many points where you will find references to previous events, that’s why it will not make any sense if you haven’t watched previous films. Hence it is highly recommended to watch Underworld movies in order.

Wrap Up:

So there you have it! Now you can watch the Underworld series in the correct order and enjoy all the action-packed adventures from start to finish. The Underworld series started in 2003 and became a popular fantasy action series with five movies in 2016 with a huge fan base. I hope this article helped you out in correcting the chronological order of underworld movies for you!

Also Read:

Betty is an enthusiastic Computer Science Graduate and an extrovert who loves to watch Netflix, and is a binge-watcher always seeking quality shows to add to her watch history! She loves to write about the show, she has watched, to make her readers acknowledge them, and witness a cherished time with friends, and family!